Monroe County commissioners pass Declaration of Disaster Emergency

Top News

MONROE COUNTY (WBRE/WYOU-TV) The Monroe County Board of Commissioners have passed a Declaration of Disaster Emergency Wednesday in response to the ongoing novel coronavirus pandemic.

According to a press release from the board of commissioners, the declaration will allow the county access to state and federal funding.

In order to keep the government operating, the commissioners also ordered all departments to reduce staffing to only essential personnel. The government will continue to provide essential services despite the declaration.

Monroe County currently has 8 confirmed cases of COVID-19.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

3-Day Forecast

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Community Calendar

Your Photos

Top Stories

More Top Stories

Latest Videos