WASHINGTON, D.C. (WBRE/WYOU) – A Lewisburg Area High School student is one of four Pennsylvania students named to the 55th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Nicholas Samuel Jacobson of Lewisburg was given the honor during an announcement by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos.

Also named from Pennsylvania are:

– Isaiah John Kim of Strath Haven High School in Nether Providence Township

– Christopher Lee of North Allegheny Senior High in Wexford

– Akhila Yalvigi of Avon Grove High School in Avondale

In all, 161 high school seniors were honored as U.S. Presidential Scholars for their accomplishments in academics, the arts and career and technical education fields. 

The U.S. Department of Education says 3.6 million students are expected to graduate from high school this year with more than 5,200 candidates who qualified for the program

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was created in 1964.

Trending Stories

If you want to receive BREAKING ALERTS, please download our Eyewitness News App. You can also follow Eyewitness News on Facebook and Twitter.