WILLIAMSPORT, LYCOMING COUNTY (WBRE/WYOU) History is being re-lived in the rooms at a new hotel in Williamsport… For those who stay at the ‘City Hall Grand Hotel.’. The third floor in the late 1800’s building on Pine Street was sitting empty for decades until the owners decided to renovate and open it up to the public. Eyewitness News Reporter Cody Butler got a tour of the new ‘City Hall Grand Hotel’
The owners started renovations in February and just completed their work for their guests. Eyewitness News spoke to one of the owners who gave us the tour.
Room number 309 – Williamsport is known to be the ‘Lumber Capital of the World.
‘Tm Butters and his wife, Sandra, choose to make every room unique – carving a piece of history from the city in each of their 11 rooms.
“We just thought it would be interesting for people to view and see the different heritage of, of, what went on in Williamsport.” Said Butters
Eber Culver was the architect behind the late 1800’s city hall after the borough of Williamsport became the city.he also designed other buildings still standing today – it was only ‘fitting’ to have ‘the Culver room’ to showcase his stake in history.
Tim Butters, told Cody Butler he doesn’t have a favorite he likes the all!
Their website displays all their rooms with the history behind them.rooms range from one-to- two hundred dollars a night.
The lower level has two handicap assessable hotel rooms and the rest are on the third floor. Since opening last month – business has been steady and feedback.. “Such a beautiful building and they also enjoy the different themes of the rooms. ” noted Butters
The ‘City Hall Grand Hotel’ is looking to expand by adding more rooms. Right now businesses rent the first and second floor.
For more information on City Hall Grand Hotel Website