Dean Young is Poet-in-Residence at Bucknell

Dean Young_4681734354878481516
Dean Young is the 2013-14 Poet-in-Residence at Bucknell University.
Young will give a poetry reading Tuesday, Jan. 28, at 7 p.m. in the Stadler Center for Poetry in Bucknell Hall. A reception and book-signing will follow.
Young is recognized as one of the most energetic, influential poets writing today. He is the author of numerous collections of poetry include Strike Anywhere (1995), winner of the Colorado Prize for Poetry; Skid (2002), finalist for the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize; Elegy on Toy Piano (2005), finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; and Primitive Mentor (2008), shortlisted for the International Griffin Poetry Prize.
He also has written a book on poetics, The Art of Recklessness: Poetry as Assertive Force and Contradiction (2010).
Born in Columbia, Pa., Young received his MFA from Indiana University. He has taught at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, the low-residency MFA program at Warren Wilson College, and the University of Texas-Austin where he holds the William Livingston Chair of Poetry.
Young also will participate in a conversation and question-and-answer session at noon on Feb. 4 in Walls Lounge of the Elaine Langone Center.
All events are free and open to the public. For more information on the series and programs of the Stadler Center for Poetry, visit, email or call 570-577-1853.
Since its initiation in 1981, the Poet-in-Residence program has brought writers of national and international renown for an extended stay during the spring semester. The Poet-in-Residence teaches a master class for qualified students, gives a public reading and a lecture or Q&A session, and otherwise serves as an active presence on campus. The program honors the achievement of a distinguished poet while providing undergraduate writers the opportunity to work with that poet.
Recent Poets-In-Residence include Natasha Trethewey, serving as U.S. Poet Laureate; Mark Doty, winner of the 2008 National Book Award for Poetry; and Terrance Hayes, winner of the 2010 National Book Award for Poetry.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories